What CMs Should Focus on in Customers' Contracts

Join us for the next SBCA online workshop, one in a webinar series introducing Best Practices for Customer Contracts. Join in and learn how a properly drafted and executed customer contract is “the number one tool for component manufacturers to improve their company from a risk management and liability avoidance perspective,” according to SBCA national counsel, Kent Pagel.

Customer contracts determine (1) how and when a component manufacturer gets paid; (2) the manufacturer’s design responsibilities; (3) a manufacturer’s warranty; and (4) the potential outcome in truss collapse, construction defect and truss injury claims and lawsuits. 

This webinar series hosted by Kent Pagel is an excellent opportunity for component manufacturers and their staff to better understand why contracts are so important and, furthermore, how to draft and negotiate a customer contract that is fair in terms of allocation of responsibilities and risks.

Email tkutz@qualtim.com to register today, and don’t miss this opportunity to learn about negotiating customer contracts, responsibilities and risks.

Workshop ScheduleThis 1¼ hour workshop will be held on Tuesday, November 15 at 11 am PDT/12pm MDT/1pm CDT/2pm EDT. Truss Technician Training (TTT) recertification credit, continuing education credit (CEU) and professional development hours (PDH) are available.

Workshop CostIndividuals from component manufacturing companies that attended BCMC in Knoxville, TN in 2016 can attend this session for FREE. SBCA component manufacturer members receive a discount and pay by location, so multiple employees can participate at one cost. The member cost is $30 per location; the nonmember cost is $60 per person.

Missed a Workshop? – Recordings of this workshop will be available online shortly after the presentation. The member cost is $30 per person; the nonmember cost is $60 per person.  

Check out this extra section in each digital issue of SBC Magazine for additional news, perspective, and advertiser content. Learn more and access 2016-2017 archives here.