MiTek’s Marriott Receives Bowman Industry Enthusiast Award

Originally published by: MiTek USANovember 13, 2017

The following article was produced and published by the source linked to above, who is solely responsible for its content. SBC Magazine is publishing this story to raise awareness of information publicly available online and does not verify the accuracy of the author’s claims. As a consequence, SBC cannot vouch for the validity of any facts, claims or opinions made in the article.

MiTek today announced that its outgoing president, Dick Marriott, has won the 2017 Dick Bowman Industry Enthusiast award, a prestigious honor awarded annually by the Structural Building Components Association (SBCA). 

“The Dick Bowman Industry Enthusiast award was created in 2005 in honor of Dick Bowman, long-time SBC Magazine and BCMC exhibit space salesman, who was the epitome of enthusiastic support for the structural building components industry. Dick Bowman faithfully served our industry until his unfortunate death in January of 2004,” according to the SBCA.

Before recently announcing his retirement, Dick Marriott had been President of MiTek USA, Inc.  Prior to that, Mr. Marriott had also served as Senior Vice President of Sales for MiTek USA until 2008. He first joined MiTek in 1978 as a sales engineer.

“Dick Marriott’s lifetime of service to MiTek and to the community of customers we serve is revered in the building industry, and rightfully so.  This award is well-earned by Dick, and I know I speak for the entire MiTek family, in offering a heartfelt thanks to Dick for all he has given to us and to this industry, and especially for the example he has set for his fellow MiTek team members,” said Maged Diab, President of MiTek USA. 

“This award will honor a supplier individual who over the years has supported BCMC [the Building Component Manufacturers Conference] and the structural building components industry as a whole with enthusiasm and integrity in an unselfish and positive manner and has brought an all-around good attitude and joy to the show.  The selection committee for the Dick Bowman Industry Enthusiast Award is the SBCA Board of Directors, SBCA Past Presidents and the BCMC Committee,” the SBCA added.  

The past recipients of this award have included Joe Kannapell (2013), Carl Schoening (2014) Jerry Vulgaris (2015) and Mike Martz (2016).

Check out this extra section in each digital issue of SBC Magazine for additional news, perspective, and advertiser content. Learn more and access 2016-2017 archives here.